Wednesday 19-06-2013

Well today unfortunately didn’t start with an early rise, because I was still feeling pretty under the weather. Alice let me sleep in, and I ended up waking up around 7:40 (but after going to bed at 8 the night before, I guess my body needed all that rest!) Miraculously, my fever seemed to be all gone, but I had a really bad headache and just felt super lethargic.

I decided that it would be best to spend the day in bed – both so I can recover more quickly, but also so that I don’t get any of the students or fellow interns sick. Most of the morning was spent either dozing or sleeping.

Alice and Daniel were really great about covering the classes without me. Daniel corrected all the homeworks and had to deal with a particularly stressful/energetic maths class. Alice was particularly saintly as she took on the role of coordinating with the travel agency (which has been a nightmare!) and even booked my plane ticket to and from Victoria Falls for our upcoming four-day weekend.

I was finally able to drag myself out of bed around 1:15 to make our maths test with Daniel. It was good to be out and about, but I could tell I wasn’t operating at 100%. We were able to make a test, though, and after that, I just chilled in my bed for quite some time.

After that, TG informed me that I had mail from America waiting for me in the front office. Sure enough, there was the best medicine I could have asked for – a letter from Lulu, detailing all her latest shenanigans. She wrote the letter during the Weston 300 celebration (yes, my town is super old, and just turned 300 this year!) which was on June 2, and the letter just got to me today! Hooray for snail mail.

Later I was able to have not one but two pieces of toast with peanut butter for my “lunch.” Then it was more resting, and then the power went out for about two and a half hours. That was fine (although a tad annoying since it started to get both cold and dark as the sun set), but as soon as the power came back on (around 8) I was able to have two more pieces of toast with peanut butter and a banana that Alice brought me back from the dining hall.

After a little writing and reading, it was off to bed, in hopes of a relatively normal tomorrow!
TGT: 1) toast with PB actually tasted relatively good today! 2) Getting a card from Lulu 3) being taken care of by Alice and the other interns!

Until next time,
~JK

One thought on “Wednesday 19-06-2013

  1. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So excited you got my letter!!! What a perfect day to get it – I’m glad it helped to make you feel better!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

