Sunday 07-07-2013

Today Alice and I were up again around 8:15, and we headed off to breakfast. Breakfast was even better than expected (and that’s saying something for a Sunday morning!) First of all, for the second day in a row, there were little croissant-like pastries (although today’s were filled with marmalade instead of chocolate, but they were still really good). Then, on top of that, for the first time in Bots, I had an egg with a runny yolk. To be honest, I had forgotten that 99% of the fried eggs I have eaten have had a runny yolk since in Bots, they cook the eggs super-thoroughly.

After a delicious breakfast, we all headed to the staff room to take advantage of the lovely WiFi. Since my computer battery was running low, I headed home before everyone else and worked a bit on my blog and played some card game on my computer.

A little later, Alice returned and started reading a book she had borrowed from Mr. Taylor. Since she already had “physical” reading material, I asked if I could read on her kindle, and she said sure. I started reading Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris. The book is a collection of hilarious short stories and the first one was about his experience getting a dental implant (which is something I’ll be doing in August!)

By then it was time for lunch, which was also really good – chicken and potatoes and ice cream! After that, we did some more SAT grading (because it was so easy to make mistakes, we wanted to double check all our grading). Again, I shall spare you the details, but needless to say, it took quite some time.

After that, since we all needed a break, I headed back home and changed to go on a run. Alice had just returned from her run, though, and reminded me that the weekly football game would be starting soon. I grabbed Jennifer from the gym, and soon enough we were ready to play football. Except no one else was…

Turns out the matches on Sundays start at 4:30 (not 4) so we waited around for about 20 minutes, and then out came the players. They almost seemed to be testing Jennifer and me at first, as they would pass us the ball, which we took as a sign that we should cross it back to them. We took turns doing just that, and after a while (and a lot of Setswana exchanged amongst the players) we were deemed “worthy.”
One team “picked” Jennifer and the other “picked” me. Besides that, though, the teams seemed pretty arbitrary, and it was a constant struggle deducing who was and was not on your team.

Suddenly we were playing! This was probably one of the hardest soccer games I’ve played in, and it really drove home the point that communication on the pitch is key (and lots of communication in a language you don’t know makes the game borderline impossible!) Regardless, it was fun to be back on the field, and playing at a tad higher pace than social football!

I had to leave the scrimmage early to shower, and then Daniel and I lesson planned before dinner. Dinner was spaghetti Bolognese, which was relatively good, and also included delicious pears.

After a bit more lesson planning, we all headed over to scrabble at 7. Well, actually Alice and I headed over to scrabble right at 7 and got to help Mr. Taylor set up everything (including washing multiple packages of strawberries and grapes!)

This was probably the best scrabble food-wise (and, yes, it was a good game, as well, although Alice, Mr. Taylor, Annabelle and I ended up coming in second). There were strawberries and grapes, malva pudding (seriously so delicious!), ice cream, ginger cookies and whipped cream. In addition, there were these delicious biscuits that tasted almost exactly like the cookies my family makes at Christmas!

All in all, it was a delightful evening, and a great way to end the week.

TGT: 1) delicious (and fun!) scrabble 2) eggs for breakfast 3) playing football

Until next time,
~JK

One thought on “Sunday 07-07-2013

Leave a Reply

