Intro to Life in Madrid (and a summary of life since Mumbai)

Hello again!

First of all, I must apologize (and simultaneously thank HCAP Mumbai). As you’ll see if you scroll down, I never got to finish blogging about my time in Mumbai, largely due to the fact that we had such action-packed days and nights (I’m sure you can only imagine how in my element I was dancing the night away to Bollywood music!) Suffice it to say, it was a phenomenal trip. Highlights from the rest of the trip include a beautiful waterfront yoga session while the sun was rising, visiting multiple temples, walking to a mosque at the end of its own manmade island, exploring the Elephanta caves and getting a tour of the Girnar tea company’s facilities.

And now for a quick summary of life since then: I graduated from Harvard this past May with a degree in Psychology and Global Health. I spent this past summer working as a clinical research assistant at McLean psychiatric hospital in Belmont, MA. I was a research assistant for a study involving cardiovascular medication adherence in patients with schizophrenia and bipolar disorder (interestingly, heart disease is the number one killer of this population). I learned so much during my time as an RA and got a lot of patient interaction as well.

I was fortunate to be living rent-free this summer, but the unfortunate part of that was that I was living in “my” (my family’s) house while the rest of my family was with my grandma on the eastern end of Long Island, NY. I went down to see them most weekends, but during the week, things got pretty lonely. Thankfully, I had a bunch of friends still on campus and because I took an Indian dance class in Central Square every Monday, I was able to see quite a few friends over the summer!

And that pretty much brings me to right now. I’m currently on flight one to two – this one is from Boston to Lisbon and the second one will bring me to Madrid. In Madrid, I’ll be a Language and Culture Assistant at IES Villablanca – a bilingual high school on the outskirts of Madrid. I essentially will be at the beck and call of the school – I could be asked to teach the English language (which, if you know me, is an ironic request since English in general, and spelling in particular, is definitely not my forte) or I could be asked to teach a subject, such as science, history or social studies, in English.

I’ll start teaching on October 3rd. For the next four(ish) days, I’ll be going through an official orientation with CIEE. CIEE is the same program I used to study abroad in Sevilla during my junior fall semester and I’m really excited to be working with them again. CIEE is putting us up in a hotel for 8 nights, and during that time, we’re supposed to find an apartment into which we can move. This is by far what I am most nervous about, but CIEE warned us not to sign any leases before we actually viewed the apartments in person because there are a lot of scams out there.

That’s all for now, but of course I’ll end with today’s TGT (three good things): 1) drinking two homemade smoothies courtesy of Momma Krimsky before heading to the airport 2) getting so many “safe travel” calls/texts/Google Hangouts from friends 3) fitting in one last brunch – homemade challah French toast (yes, a lot of my good things are food related, shocking).

Hasta pronto,
JK

 

 

One thought on “Intro to Life in Madrid (and a summary of life since Mumbai)

Leave a Reply

